esj logo image image image image image


Watershed Coalitions

Water quality coalitions have been formed throughout the Central Valley in response to Conditional Waiver of Waste Discharge Requirements passed on July 11, 2003 by the Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board.

Viewed by many as the most economical way to comply with the regulations, the coalitions' goal is to represent farmers with irrigated cropland within a regional watershed so they don't need to file individual reports with the Regional Water Board.

On April 1, 2004, each coalition submitted a watershed use report describing detailed cropping patterns, pesticides and nutrient use and a compilation of management practices that can protect water quality from farm inputs. Also submitted was the water monitoring plan for the watershed drainage area. Then beginning on July 1, 2004, the coalitions began to initiate monthly water monitoring in their regions.

Sacramento Valley

Sacramento Valley Water Quality Coalition
Bruce Houdesheldt
Northern California Water Association
Sacramento CA
(916) 442-8333
bruceh@norcalwater.org

Tina Lunt
Northern California Water Association
Sacramento CA
(916) 442-8333
tlunt@norcalwater.org

For a copy of the Sacramento Valley Coalition Regional Plan for Action, visit the Northern California Water Association Website

Sacramento Valley Rice

California Rice Commission
Tim Johnson
701 University Ave., Ste. 205
Sacramento CA
(916) 442-8333
tjohnson@calrice.org

Sacramento / San Joaquin Delta

San Joaquin County & Delta Water Quality Coalition
John B. Meek
3422 W. Hammer Lane, Ste A
Stockton CA 95217
(559) 472-7127 ext. 125
jmeek@jmeek.com

San Joaquin Valley:northwest

Westside San Joaquin River Watershed Coalition
Joseph C. McGahan
P.O. Box 2157
Los Banos CA 93635
(559) 582-9237
jmcgahan@summerseng.com

San Joaquin Valley:northeast

East San Joaquin Water Quality Coalition
Parry Klassen
Board Chairman
Modesto CA
(209) 846-6112
(559) 288-8125 (C)
parry@esjcoalition.org

Wayne Zipser
Stanislaus County Farm Bureau
Modesto CA 95353
(209) 846-6112
waynez@stanfarmbureau.org

San Joaquin Valley:south

Southern San Joaquin Valley Water Quality Coalition
David Cone
4886 E. Jensen Ave.
Fresno CA 93725
(559) 237-5567
dcone@krcd.org

Westlands Water District
Orvil McKinnis
Program Coordinator
(559) 241-6242
(559) 241-6277 FAX
omckinnis@westlandswater.org

Susan Ramos
Program Manager
(559) 241-6215
(559) 241-6277 FAX
sramos@westlandswater.org

Go to Top of Page